Prolix Inveigle Discombobulate Tuft…


Words, eh? Lovely cuddly spongy words. I love ’em. Can’t get enough of ’em. I can frequently be found using them (not often correctly).

I read somewhere of a blog that was whittling down their favourite words to get to a “Best Word Ever”. Last time I looked the finalists were ‘Gherkin’ and ‘Diphthong’, two lovely words. They are not my favourite words, however. I have a penchent for ‘Prolix’ which is, after some thought, ironic. And also ‘Schism’ and ‘Woggle’ and ‘Flap’. Not to mention ‘Quixotic’, ‘Inveigle’, ‘ and so on.

In fact, the reason I write at all is because of a book I accidentally stole from my mate – namely Catch-22 by Joseph Heller. For the first time in my life the sheer beauty of the written word was apparent to a heedless youth. The way the sentences were formed in that book were chaotically and inspiringly beautiful. I felt quite blown away by it. I’ll admit it’s not everyone’s cup of tea – some think the book is awful – but I loved what was wrought in those pages. Suddenly it all made sense. That book is why ‘Prolix’ is my favourite word.

Anyway, I know this is somewhat jumping the blogger’s bandwagon, but what are your favourite words??

10 Comments

  1. Oh, well, since you asked and since I can’t stand to see an empty comment box, here goes. I’m personally drawn to “P” words: persnickety, petulant, pachyderm, predicament, perpetual, peevish, pew… That said, my favorite word will likely always be ‘shit’. I just think it’s funny and peculiarly satisfying in particular situations. I wrote an entire piece about it, which no one will ever read because I can never post it! (that would make me a pariah in polite company, and I have a reputation to uphold) 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

